Lung Cancer Mutation Panel

A lung cancer mutation panel is a diagnostic test used to analyze specific genetic mutations in lung cancer patients. This panel typically includes the analysis of mutations in genes that play a significant role in the treatment of lung cancer, and includes EGFR (Exons 18 to 21), KRAS, BRAF, and MET mutations.


EGFR (Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor):

EGFR mutations are frequently found in non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), particularly in adenocarcinomas. Analysis typically covers mutations in EGFR exons 18 to 21, where many of the clinically relevant mutations including the EGFR T790M mutation occur. EGFR mutations can predict the responsiveness of the tumor to EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKIs), such as gefitinib, erlotinib, and osimertinib.


KRAS (Kirsten Rat Sarcoma Viral Oncogene Homolog):

KRAS mutations are common in lung cancer, especially in smokers with adenocarcinoma. Tumors with KRAS mutations are often associated with resistance to EGFR TKIs and require alternative treatment strategies.


BRAF (V-raf Murine Sarcoma Viral Oncogene Homolog B):

BRAF mutations are found in a subset of lung cancers. The most common mutation in lung cancer is BRAF V600E. Targeted therapies, such as dabrafenib and trametinib, are available for patients with BRAF V600E-mutated lung cancer.


MET (Mesenchymal-Epithelial Transition Factor):

MET alterations, including amplification and exon 14 skipping mutations, can occur in lung cancer. MET exon 14 skipping mutations have been associated with sensitivity to MET inhibitors like crizotinib.


The choice of targeted therapies and treatment strategies can be tailored based on the specific mutations detected in a patient’s tumor, allowing for more personalized and effective lung cancer treatment.

  • Next Generation Sequencing (NGS)
  • FFPE tissue (Paraffin Block)
  • 14 days

Talk to us